Goandria: The Evolution and Genesis of My World Part I

What drives a 12-year-old to hammer away at the keyboard instead of going outside or playing sports? That is something I do not understand, but I was that 12-year-old. The world of Goandria has gone through many versions and morphed so many times, but at the same time, it remains familiar. Much like an old friend, writing in this world has offered comfort and has become so integrated into my life that if I am parted from it for too long, I feel as if there is a hole in my soul.

Before age 12, if someone had told me I was going to aspire to become a writer, I wouldn’t have believed it. I wanted to sing. As a child, I felt I had my life figured out, like many children do. In my early years, I was not particularly good at reading, and I could not write well either. I struggled through all my English classes, and often barely passed, but there were two worlds that filled me with awe: Star Wars and Lord of the Rings. These stories left me wanting more, taught me about love, life and friendships, and transported me to a world where the impossible was possible. This was the beginning of my love for fantasy.

While sitting in church one day, the idea came to me to start writing and create my own world. It wasn’t particularly original or good at first. At that time, it was called “The Land of Golah.” As time went on and I grew and learned more, the desire grew within me to create a world that was my own, original and not just a copy of the stories that inspired me. Yes, I know, that is the goal of every writer, and it is up to my readers to decide if I succeeded, but what I wanted was to break away from the clichés that plague Fantasy. For example, a Dark Lord/Lady who is evil just for the sake of evil is too prevalent in fantasy worlds. In my first full-length novel that I plan to release in early 2015, there is a dark lord (so to speak), but I wanted to show things from his perspective. I wanted the reader to get inside his head and understand why he does what he does. This is something that does not happen with Sauron in Lord of the Rings. The reader knows Sauron is evil, but we really don’t know why or what drives him other than his wish to dominate all people and their wills.

My goal with the Goandria series is to offer a story that is familiar yet fresh for fantasy readers. There are thousands of Lord of the Rings clones out there, and while I love Tolkien’s work, let us leave Middle-Earth in Middle-Earth.

Sign up for my newsletter!

One thought on “Goandria: The Evolution and Genesis of My World Part I”

Leave a Reply

