The Purpose of The Schism

As I have stated before in previous blog posts, Goandria: The Schism is my debut short story series.  Why did I start with a series of short stories instead of a full-length novel?  Why did I chose to release The Schism instead of my novel that has been sitting, waiting to get published?  I have addressed some of these questions in other areas of this blog, but what I want to do is explain the difficult decision I made in taking this route.

I made the difficult decision to start with a short story series for a couple of reasons.  First, I feel it is easier to introduce small digestible chunks as a new author than to ask people not only to give their money to someone they have never heard of, but also a good chunk of their time.  Let’s face it, reading takes time, and with full-time jobs, families, and other hobbies all desiring a chunk of that time, asking strangers to read large chunks of fiction when they have never heard of you is probably unrealistic.  Second, I am going to do everything I can to avoid prequel syndrome.  We can all think of a movie, novel, or TV series that peaks our interest and then offers a prequel which either adds virtually nothing important to the story or creates a plethora of continuity errors.

Goandria: The Schism takes place several generations before my upcoming novel series.  It tells of a much different world than the reader will see in the future.  What I want to do is lay the foundation of Goandria and more importantly give greater depth to a character present in the future.  The short story series is meant to hone on a couple people while a war rages on in the background, a war that has taken place over several generations.  The Schism is the story of those characters. It is intended to begin within a much larger story, to introduce and focus on characters that will bring change to Goandria. The Schism is the prequel to the Goandria series and offers a small glimpse into this world.

Sign up for my newsletter!

Leave a Reply

