Writer’s Block?

Writer’s block is a rather peculiar pseudo-pop culture reference to when writers have no idea what to write or are struggling to get their ideas on paper.  So what does writers block look like for me?

There are times in which I know what to write but not how to write it.  Earlier in my life, I used writer’s block as an excuse, and it was true that I struggled with writing scenes at those points.  Writing is not easy.  Then a couple years ago, I had an epiphany.  I was not that committed.  I said I wanted to write, but I never chose to commit to it, to make it a part of my everyday life.  As much as I wanted to produce my world and make it available for others to read, there was an endless amount of excuses contributing to writer’s block. Once I made a commitment, an earnest commitment, I found that writer’s block melted away almost entirely.  Sure, I struggle with forming scenes or with the new direction the characters are taking me, but that struggle is overcome every time.  I found deciding to write a minimum amount of words every day helps.  More often than not, I end up doubling or tripling the minimum because once the story gets flowing, it is hard to stop it.

There is one hang up to my new plan.  As I write this blog, I must confess something.  I really dislike blogs and blogging, but since getting published, I have discovered one unavoidable truth: blogging is a must for writers.  Knowing what to regularly blog about is difficult for me.  I have generally found bloggers to be conceited.  Why should random strangers care about the musings and opinions of other strangers?  Apparently, there are many strangers that care about these opinions because blogging is popular.  So in knowing the necessity of blogging, I buckled down and began to do it myself.  I found that I have things to write about each time I sit down, and it becomes a little easier.  Writer’s block is more about willpower in my life than anything else, and making a commitment to just do it helps overcome it.

Sign up for my newsletter!

Leave a Reply

