What inspired you to write?

When posed with this question, I internally stammer, my mind races, and I feel like a bit of a fool. Such a question should be easy enough to answer right? I mean, after all, I am a writer, and explaining to someone else why I write should be one of the easiest things for me to do, but it isn’t. Sure there are many factors that contribute to my purpose for writing, but none of them are stand-alone reasons for why I write. It is strange, but I cannot answer the question in a simple sentence or two. So here is my lengthy response to what should be an easy question.

The main force that drives me to write every single day is a calling. Even if I do not feel inspired, even if I do not exactly feel like writing, I feel like there is a small hole in my soul if I neglect my writings. Writing is a part of me, like a hand or a nose. If I ignore that part of me, I don’t feel whole.

I have been inspired by Tolkien, Star Wars, random fantasy movies on the Sci-Fi (now SyFy) channel, and a few TV shows. I even found inspiration in areas I did not expect, such as dramas, comedies, and instrumental music. For me, the world is just spewing with inspiration. My inspiration comes from not just from fiction and music, but my faith and relationships as well. My son alone is a source for so much inspiration.

Like many other writers of speculative fiction, I live in the “what if” world. What I mean by this is how many people wonder what would happen if a squadron Laat/i Republic Gunships (from Star Wars) came down and confronted an orc horde. This type of thing makes play time with my son more interesting too because he and I both like to imagine and pretend.

Another reason why I write is that I wish to produce works that I would like to see. When I feel disappointed by certain elements, like a villain with no depth, I set out to correct that problem with my writings. Of course that is rather ambitious, but writing at all is ambitious. I want to make the fantasy genre better, one story at a time, and I hope that others like my works as well.

Sign up for my newsletter!

Leave a Reply

