Writing is Humbling

One of the greatest truths I have learned since I began my writing journey is that authorship is a very humbling endeavor. Some may have images of an illustrious author doing book signings, having thousands of adoring fans, and making decent money. The truth is that this image is a very rare situation. Becoming successful can mean different things to different people, and no matter how good a work is, there will always be people who hate it and think it is trash.

Writing is a hard road, and it is met with constant obstacles. The marketing aspect is perhaps the most challenging. An author must find his or her audience, know how to cater to it, and convince that audience to continually buy books. The author does not have any control over someone else buying a book and writing a scathing review.

In light of this, I find it difficult to imagine how any writer could become arrogant. My journey has already been full of ups and downs. With writing there are factors within the author’s control, such as producing a quality book, having a website and blog, and trying different advertisements, but there are other things that are purely luck. It takes lots of time and effort to get a book out there. Patience is not exactly my strong suit, especially when it comes to my passion. It is easy to get discouraged, but then I realize that even the best of the best writers struggled in the beginning. Writing is not as easy as we like to make it seem, but I still wouldn’t change my decision to try.

Sign up for my newsletter!

Leave a Reply

