Titles

Have you ever written a paper in High School or College that you feel was excellent, but the title was an elusive monster that just would not reveal itself? I have, especially on those assignments that allowed me to pick my own topic. Worse yet, when I was required to do a creative assignment, it had to have an engaging title. What is an engaging title? That seems rather subjective … well sort of.

Obviously, being a novelist, I love creative writing. Writing is in my very soul, but titles on the other hand … titles are hard. I’m not here to say that I have become an expert at it either. Just know that if you struggle in this area, you are not alone.

As an author, it is my responsibility to grab a reader’s attention. The first things a person sees on a book are the cover and the title. These are two of the most important elements of a book. If a cover or title is not attracting attention, no one will care to read the summary. If the summary isn’t read, the book probably won’t be read either. There is a lot of pressure to get the titles just right, and that is something I am still trying to figure out.

One thing I have found helpful is to bounce ideas off a friend or family member. Often, they help me come up with ideas I had never thought about.

Leave a Reply

