A Taste of Parenting

I like adventures. I love to go for long walks outside exploring new regions. I go on adventures each time I work on my manuscript or read a book, but there is one adventure I wasn’t prepared for: parenting.

I got married October 17, 2009, and the following month, I found out my wife was pregnant. We did not plan on having children for a few years, and this totally derailed all of our plans, but as most adults know, life rarely goes according to plan. My son came into the world as all children do, crying and lovable. He was a blessing from the Lord, but I had no idea what I was doing. In fact, I still sometimes feel that way five years later.

As the days, weeks, and years rolled by, I got to see this child of mine transform and change very rapidly because I am the one home with him. Through the ups and downs, I learned so much about myself, and my son has inspired me in so many ways.

Children see the world in a very different way. Of course I knew that intellectually, but I never grasped the extent until I had a child of my own. The innocence, curiosity, and ability to find joy in simple things helped me to appreciate life better for myself. My son’s perspective has lead me to understanding my characters better, especially the children. Before having a child, writing children was much harder, but more specifically, it is his affection and sensitivity that helped me to create characters such as Evera. I asked myself, “what if Goandria’s culture doesn’t erode this away as people become adults?”

Writing is about experiences and how you apply them. Some experiences we can encounter first hand, and others we can only read about or learn second hand. Parenting opens the door for a plethora of experiences. Though I have just begun this journey, it has already been rich. I can only imagine what the future will hold and how it will help me become a better writer and a better person.

Sign up for my newsletter!

Leave a Reply

