Why I Write

The hashtag #WhyIWrite was trending last week, and I found it inspiring that something other than politics and celebrity news became popular for a brief time. It also prompted me to go into detail about my journey into becoming a writer and why I chose a very difficult route to pursue professionally.

As I have said here, I started writing as a hobby when I was twelve years old. Over the years, my dedication to writing has come in waves, but I could never fully abandon it as I have other hobbies. Writing, especially the Goandria series, has become a part of my life, part of my very soul, something that I cannot live without. I do not profess to be the best at it, but I do make a point to become better at writing because I have a story to tell, and it is worth sharing. Fantasy has been an integral part of my life. It has inspired me. It has driven me to contemplate difficult matters and existential meaning, and this is something I want to bring people as well.

Writing isn’t an easy path, and I’m still very much learning, especially when it comes to marketing and branching out to new readers. Actually, choosing to write professionally is one of the most difficult challenges I have faced, second only to parenting. The average person takes years to get established, and I have only been doing this for about a year, so writing has not been exactly lucrative, but those I trust most in my life have encouraged me to keep doing what I love. Even with the encouragement, it is easy to get discouraged. Many people simply do not read or have time to read, and it is difficult convincing strangers to part with their money.

I continue to write because it has meaning for me. I write partially because it is a challenge, and I write to give the world the stories I would like to read myself.

Leave a Reply

