Blogging Lessons and Woes

Being a writer means more than merely writing what is comfortable and familiar. If a writer only writes what he or she knows, there is little room for growth. I have alluded to this in the past, but in this post I would like to elaborate on my struggles with blogging. It is way beyond my comfort zone, and it is something I never intended to do until I became published and learned it was a necessity for any writer.I’ve had this blog for a little over a year, and to be honest, I have gotten more views and followers than I ever thought in such a short time. I like to tell stories. That is where I thrive and what comes natural to me, but blogging is foreign. I didn’t understand it before. Anyone can write a blog, and most of them I came across in the past spewed their thoughts on matters of politics, science, faith, and everything else in between. Not that writing about such topics is bad. In fact, it is really good to talk about hard topics, but I hold blogs to the same standard I was held to in college papers: If you are going to have an opinion, you must back it up with facts and sources. I don’t often see facts or sources called out in blogs. I quickly became cynical and jaded about the blogging scene. Then I became published, and I knew my narrow view point would have to evolve.

I started this blog with the intent of having a specific theme. All my posts would tie into writing and my stories. It was, and still is, hard for me to come up with regular topics to write about. I do not like talking about myself and what I’m doing because I would much rather tell you a story, but blogging has opened up a new community for me. I have seen that blogging isn’t just what I thought it was. It has connected me to new people, and I have learned new things about myself and writing.

If you are like me and blogging is outside of your element, I encourage you to consider doing it anyway. If nothing else, it gives you a platform for your voice to be heard and allows you to try new things. Who knows, you may come to enjoy it.

3 thoughts on “Blogging Lessons and Woes”

  1. Congrats!

    After having my blog for several years, it doesn’t really get easier to figure out what to blog about. I think the more you do it, the more you start to notice the things in life that would make a good blog post. I keep track of what sparks people’s interest, and try to mention those topics more. I try to bring it back around to my writing, but that’s not always easy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

