More Writing Lessons

I have started a new comedy project. Writing comedy is something different for me, and anyone who reads this blog regularly knows I prefer to write Fantasy. The Goandria series has been a part of me since I was a kid, and that is where my passion lies. However, I also want to dip my toes into other areas of writing. This is a way for me to continue to grow and expand my writing abilities, and after a little over thirteen thousand words, I have already learned quite a bit.
My favorite parts of my new book don’t necessarily come from my imagination but from reality. What I mean is that the funniest things in a comedy aren’t made up, but are rooted in reality. One character is based on a person I used to know who was a little off. What makes this so funny is that some of this stuff actually happened! Sure, I changed the name and the circumstances to fit the book, but the essence is still there. Which leads me to the next lesson. When writing comedy, if I don’t laugh, the reader won’t laugh. That is so simple, but you must understand.

The other day on Twitter, I saw a meme that had a Robert Frost quote, “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader,” In order to convey emotions, we must feel them as writers, which is really difficult for me. While I am not devoid of emotion, I simply don’t always show it. In knowing that about myself, I have to take great care when writing my books.

Writing constantly evolves for a writer, and I’ve only just begun. I look forward to learning more about this craft and continually refining it so that others may enjoy the stories I love to tell.

Leave a Reply

