Creativity

Those of us who are writers know that creativity is not only a trait we possess. In reality, creativity possesses us, and we are merely the instrument through which ideas flow. At some times those ideas flow more easily than at others, yet we must continue writing. I have talked about many ways that I become inspired to write, but one of the most important things for me as a writer is to be surrounded by creativity.

I think it goes without saying that I am a nerd. Many of you reading this may not know me personally, but I am a fantasy author, and in order to write speculative fiction one needs to be nerdy on some level. My wife and I have shelves of Lego scenes ranging from medieval castles and monsters to Star Wars and Lord of the Rings. Maybe this sounds silly, but it is a hobby we do together. We build, modify, and set up scenes for display. We also have Legend of Zelda calendars and puzzles of Hyrule on the wall.

There was a time when I was embarrassed of all this. I was fine with my immediate family knowing, but allowing the outside world to know about it was quite a different matter. As I got a little older, I stopped caring as much what outsiders think. We all have quirks, and I decided to embrace mine. In doing so, I have found that my home is comprised of two very important things: love and creativity. I have come to realize that both of these fuel my writings.

Maybe my approach isn’t the same as yours, but if you are into creative writing, I suggest developing a creative atmosphere to inspire you, if you haven’t done so already. It made a world of difference for me.

4 thoughts on “Creativity”

Leave a Reply

