Showing, Telling, and Life

This is a little off-topic for me, but it is something that I have been thinking about for a while.  I haven’t been sure if it is something I could put in my blog or not since I try to keep the theme of writing.  I decided to dive into it because I feel it is important and can be connected to writing.

An author is expected to “show” not “tell” while developing a story, or in other words lead the reader to water don’t force her to drink. That had got me thinking, what if everyone was expected to do that not just authors?

I know, it is pretty crazy, but imagine a world where people proved they were good instead of simply saying they were?  Isn’t that the way things are supposed to be anyway?    I have had actual experiences like this.  I knew a habitual liar who claimed to be a good person, even after lying to children for over a year.  I knew someone who bragged about having above average mental health because said person was in treatment.  If this stuff is true, why say it?  If someone is honest or has good mental health shouldn’t that be obvious and not needing to be announced?

 

 

Instead of saying you are a good person, show it.  Actually, it is probably better if you never say it at all.  We all have slip-ups, and that sort of stuff can come around to bite you.  Just look at the current political season, that is evidence enough right there.

Leave a Reply

