Fall is here again


It is my favorite time of year again.  If you have been following my blog for a while now, you are undoubtedly aware that I absolutely love autumn.  It is when the leaves turn beautiful colors, the temperature drops (I hate hot weather), and we celebrate Halloween and Thanksgiving.  Not to mention the mosquitos are finally gone, which is a big deal here in Minnesota.  Not one of these single aspects are what makes fall wonderful to me, not even all of them combined.

For me, fall has a certain feel to it.  It is a spiritually refreshing time of year.  Sure, everything I listed contributes to that feeling, but there is something deeper to autumn.  I see it as the annual climax in God’s creation before everything becomes white and brown.

Then there is Halloween.  Oddly, I used to hate that holiday as a child, a time in most people’s lives when they were actually excited for it.  I was easily scared as a child, and it didn’t take much to keep me awake at night worried something was going to get me.  Aside from that, Halloween was simply creepy and felt like it left a stain on my being.  Once I became an adult, things changed.  I began to enjoy dressing up and going to costume parties with my wife.  After some experiences in college, I also became fascinated by the Celtic origins of Halloween.  When I became a father, Halloween became even more fun.

As a writer, autumn is a very inspirational time of year, and it is difficult to pinpoint why exactly that is.  Perhaps it is the absolute freshness of nature, or the fleeting beauty that trees display only for a few weeks out of the year.  Fall is truly a beautiful time of year and so fleeting.  Take time out of your day to enjoy the marvel of nature before it is gone for yet another year, especially if you are a writer.  Your soul will thank you.

Leave a Reply

