Writing Lull


I wrapped up my manuscript last week, and now I have three books to edit. That means, writing books is on hold, and editing needs to take priority.

It is strange when I’m between writing books. While working on manuscripts, the stories become like old friends to me. I immerse myself so much into the stories that it is almost jarring when the initial writing is finished, leaving a void. However, it is always relieving to finish the first draft of a book.

Editing though is not something I particularly enjoy. Sure, I could leave the bulk of it for my editor, but then how could I learn to improve myself? My editor is also very busy and I want to make my projects as easy for her as possible. That doesn’t make the process easier or more fun. Editing is tedious, and requires intense attention, which makes it more challenging for me to do a good job without taking frequent breaks.

In the meantime, I am thinking about what to write next. Should I write a science fiction novel? Should I write the final novel in the Goandria series? I hope to have an answer within a week.

Leave a Reply

